Mercury at Maximum Elongation

Today Mercury reaches maximum elongation, the furthest point it will reach from the Sun in our sky and the highest it will be above the sunset for this evening apparition. The planet is easily visible as a bright, starlike object about 26° above the setting Sun as twilight begins. Over the next couple weeks Mercury will slide back into the sunset, heading for inferior conjunction on October 16th.

Mercury Events for 2014

  Date UT Date HST Separation
Maximum Elongation Jan 31 09:59UT Jan 30 23:59HST 18.4°E
Inferior Conjunction Feb 15 20:13UT Feb 15 10:13HST  
Maximum Elongation Mar 14 05:59UT Mar 13 19:59HST 27.6°W
Superior Conjunction Apr 26 03:07UT Apr 25 17:07HST  
Maximum Elongation May 25 06:59UT May 24 20:59HST 22.7°E
Inferior Conjunction Jun 19 22:42UT Jun 19 12:42HST  
Maximum Elongation Jul 12 17:59UT Jul 12 07:59HST 20.9°W
Superior Conjunction Aug 8 16:05UT Aug 8 06:05HST  
Maximum Elongation Sep 21 21:59UT Sep 21 11:59HST 26.4°E
Inferior Conjunction Oct 16 20:32UT Oct 16 10:32HST  
Maximum Elongation Nov 1 11:59UT Nov 1 01:59HST 18.7°W
Superior Conjunction Dec 8 09:37UT Dec 7 23:37HST  
 
Source: NASA Sky Calendar and the Mercury Chaser’s Calculator

 

Author: Andrew

An electrical engineer, amateur astronomer, and diver, living and working on the island of Hawaiʻi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.