Venus Disappears into the Sunset

The 2015 evening apparition of Venus is drawing to a close. Already quite low in the sky at sunset the planet will disappear into the bright glow over the next couple weeks. Venus will pass through inferior conjunction on August 15th and reappear in the dawn during the first weeks of September.

Accompanying Venus into solar conjuntion is the bright planet Jupiter, continuing their dance in the sunset.

Venus Events for 2015

  Date UT Date HST Separation
Maximum Elongation Jun 6 18:59UT Jun 6 08:59HST 45.4°E
Inferior Conjunction Aug 15 19:19UT Aug 15 09:19HST  
Maximum Elongation Oct 26 06:59UT Oct 25 20:59HST 46.4°W
Source: NASA Sky Calendar

 

Author: Andrew

An electrical engineer, amateur astronomer, and diver, living and working on the island of Hawaiʻi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.