Full Moon

Full Moon
Full Moon taken 27Aug2007, 90mm f/12 APO and Canon 20Da
Full Moon will occur today at 08:11HST.

Occurring with this full Moon is a partial lunar eclipse. This eclipse is fairly modest, only about 25% of the Moon will be immersed in the earth’s inner shadow. For the islands the event will be even more unremarkable as the penumbral stage will have just begun prior to moonset and none of the partial eclipse will be visible. The timing of this eclipse favors Australia and Asia.

For the islands the next good lunar eclipse will occur Jan 31, 2018.

Full Moons for 2017
  UT HST
January Jan 12 11:34UT Jan 12 01:34HST
February* Feb 11 00:33UT Feb 10 14:33HST
March Mar 12 14:54UT Mar 12 04:54HST
April Apr 11 06:08UT Apr 10 20:08HST
May May 10 21:43UT May 10 11:43HST
June Jun 9 13:10UT Jun 9 03:10HST
July Jul 9 04:07UT Jul 8 18:07HST
August* Sep 7 18:11UT Aug 7 08:11HST
September Sep 6 07:03UT Sep 5 21:03HST
October Oct 5 18:40UT Oct 5 08:40HST
November Nov 4 05:23UT Nov 3 19:23HST
December Dec 3 15:47UT Dec 3 05:47HST
*Lunar Eclipse
Source: NASA Sky Calendar

Author: Andrew

An electrical engineer, amateur astronomer, and diver, living and working on Mauna Kea, Hawai'i.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *