Jan 20th Total Lunar Eclipse

The next full Moon on January 20th, will feature a sunset total lunar eclipse visible across the islands. The eclipsed Moon will rise just as the Sun sets on the opposite horizon.

Total Lunar Eclipse Aug 28,2007
Total lunar eclipse August 28, 2007

The eclipse will be just underway as the Moon rises on the island of Hawaii, with the Moon rising at almost exactly 18:00HST and the total phase of the eclipse starting 41 minutes later. Maximum will occur at 19:12HST with the Moon 14° above the horizon.

January 20, 2019 Total Lunar Eclipse
Event ContactUT HST
Penumbral BeginsP1 02:36:2816:36:28
Partial Begins U1 03:33:5517:33:55
Total Begins U2 04:41:1818:41:18
Greatest EclipseMax05:12:1819:12:18
Total Ends U3 05:43:1819:43:18
Partial Ends U4 06:50:4220:50:42
Penumbral Ends P4 07:48:0521:48:05
Data from Fred Espenak’s eclipse website

Many references state that the eclipse will occur on January 21st, and it will, in time zones further east than us here in Hawaii. We are ten hours behind UT, thus it will be the evening of the 20th when the eclipse occurs in the islands.

An easy to view evening eclipse, no reason not to get out and view this one, no need for an alarm clock!

Total Solar Eclipse 2017

On August 21 this year a total solar eclipse will sweep cross the mainland United States, something that has not happened since 1979.

1999 Total Solar Eclipse
The 1999 Total Solar Eclipse, image credit Luc Viator
I have witnessed only one total solar eclipse in my lifetime, the February 1979 eclipse that crossed Oregon and Washington. Our family viewed the eclipse from near Maryhill, Washington, atop one of the high bluffs overlooking the Columbia river. We had a perfect view, a vivid memory that remains with me nearly four decades later. The 2017 event will be similar in some respects, sweeping into North America near the Washington-Oregon border.

Our plan for this eclipse? A little preliminary yet, but starting to shape up. Eastern Oregon should provide a good chance for a clear view in August. Stay in the LaGrande area with family, heading south on eclipse day to a good vantage point near the center-line. Most likely somewhere south of Baker, Oregon. There are a lot of high elevation meadows and mountain roads that should provide a memorable place from which to view this eclipse.

Total Lunar Eclipse Reminder

Total Lunar Eclipse 14Apr2014
The total lunar eclipse on Apr 14, 2014, Canon 6D on 90mm f/12 APO
Early tomorrow morning a total lunar eclipse will be visible across the Pacific. Sky watchers in Hawaiʻi will be able to observe this event from beginning to end.

Penumbral Eclipse Begins  11:01 HST   09:01 UT
Partial Eclipse Begins   00:15 HST   10:15 UT
Total Eclipse Begins   01:57 HST   11:57 UT
Greatest Eclipse   02:01 HST   12:01 UT
Total Eclipse Ends   02:02 HST   12:02 UT
Partial Eclipse Ends   03:44 HST   13:44 UT
Penumbral Eclipse Ends   04:58 HST   14:58 UT

Timing for the 4Apr2015 total lunar eclipse

Total Lunar Eclipse 7 Oct 2014

A total lunar eclipse will occur on the next full Moon, Oct 8th. The eclipse will be visible across much of the western hemisphere, including the west coast of North America and across the Pacific. This is an excellent eclipse for observers here in Hawai’i, the entire eclipse will be visible from start to end.

Lunar Eclipse 28Aug2007
Total lunar eclipse, photo is a 8sec exposure with a Canon 20Da on a 90mm f/12 APO
Some references note that this eclipse will occur on the 8th, and so it will for much of the world. For Hawai’i this will start late on the 7th when considering the time zone correction.

The Moon will be thoroughly submerged in the umbra, the darkest part of the Earth’s shadow, with an umbral magnitude of 1.16. The Moon will not pass directly through the umbra, but rather through the northern section, thus the north pole of the Moon will remain somewhat brighter, even at maximum. The eclipse occurs at the Moon’s descending node in southern Pisces, two days after perigee (October 06 at 09:41 UT). This means that the Moon will appear 5.3% larger than it did during the April 15 eclipse (32.7 vs. 31.3 arc-minutes).

Observing a total lunar eclipse requires no special equipment, simply the desire to look up. The most useful piece of equipment will be a reclining chair or some other method of staying comfortable while watching the sky. A pair of binoculars or small telescope can provide beautiful views of the Moon during an eclipse. Photography is somewhat more challenging, but not that difficult. Focal lengths of around 1000mm will fill the field of most DSLR cameras allowing photos like that shown here.

Penumbral Eclipse Begins  22:15:33 HST   08:15:33 UT
Partial Eclipse Begins   23:14:48 HST   09:14:48 UT
Total Eclipse Begins   00:25:10 HST   10:25:10 UT
Greatest Eclipse   00:54:36 HST   10:54:36 UT
Total Eclipse Ends   01:24:00 HST   11:24:00 UT
Partial Eclipse Ends   02:34:21 HST   12:34:21 UT
Penumbral Eclipse Ends   03:33:43 HST   13:33:43 UT

Timing for the 7Oct2013 total lunar eclipse
The entire eclipse will be visible during the night, quite convenient for amateur and casual sky-watchers. This is an excellent eclipse to publicize and use for outreach purposes.

The final eclipse of 2014 will be a partial solar eclipse visible in late October across North America.

Total Lunar Eclipse 14 April 2014

A total lunar eclipse will occur on the next full Moon, April 14th. The eclipse will be visible across much of the western hemisphere, including the west coast of North America and across the Pacific. This is an excellent eclipse for observers here in Hawai’i, the entire eclipse will be visible from start to end.

Lunar Eclipse 28Aug2007
Total lunar eclipse, photo is a 8sec exposure with a Canon 20Da on a 90mm f/12 APO
Some references note that this eclipse will occur on the 15th, and so it will for much of the world. For Hawai’i this will occur late on the 14th when considering the time zone correction.

The Moon will be thoroughly submerged in the umbra, the darkest part of the Earth’s shadow, with an umbral magnitude of 1.29. The Moon will not pass directly through the umbra, but rather through the northern section, thus the north pole of the Moon will remain somewhat brighter, even at maximum.

Observing a total lunar eclipse requires no special equipment, simply the desire to look up. The most useful piece of equipment will be a reclining chair or some other method of staying comfortable while watching the sky. A pair of binoculars or small telescope can provide beautiful views of the Moon during an eclipse. Photography is somewhat more challenging, but not that difficult. Focal lengths of around 1000mm will fill the field of most DSLR cameras allowing photos like that shown here.

Penumbral Eclipse Begins  18:53:37 HST   04:53:37 UT
Partial Eclipse Begins   19:58:19 HST   05:58:19 UT
Total Eclipse Begins   21:06:47 HST   07:06:47 UT
Greatest Eclipse   21:45:40 HST   07:45:40 UT
Total Eclipse Ends   22:24:35 HST   08:24:35 UT
Partial Eclipse Ends   23:33:04 HST   09:33:04 UT
Penumbral Eclipse Ends   00:37:37 HST   10:37:37 UT

Timing for the 14Apr2013 total lunar eclipse
In Hawai’i the eclipse will begin not long after moonrise. The entire eclipse will be visible during the evening hours, quite convenient for amateur and casual sky-watchers. This is an excellent eclipse to publicize and use for outreach purposes.

The next total lunar eclipse in October will also be visible across the Pacific region. It will occur somewhat later in the night and be slightly brighter, only 1.16 umbral magnitude. With two good lunar eclipses 2014 is a treat for sky watchers across the western hemisphere. An annular eclipse is visible later in April in Australia and the South Indian Ocean, a partial solar eclipse is visible in late October across North America.